RSS

Third Party Candidate Gary Johnson

03 Oct

Because I have been receiving a lot of chatter about Libertarian Candidate Gary Johnson i thought I would discuss the topic of him and third party candidates in general.

Let me start off with two facts

Gary Johnson is a supporter of the Second Amendment.

A meteor could crash into the Presidential debates tonight, Biden and Ryan can just inexplicably be there too, both tickets wiped out and Gary Johnson will still lose the election to 2 dead men.

If you have no intention on voting for Mitt Romney then don’t.  Go ahead and vote for Gary Johnson, I’m not even going to say you wasted your vote because it is yours to do with as you want.

What I won’t do, is help re-elect the most dangerous threat to the Second Amendment in my lifetime.  Barack Obama WILL NOMINATE NOTHING BUT GUN GRABBING ACTIVIST JUDGES.

That is the truth.  How do I know it’s the truth? Because he has all ready done it.  His two appointed Supreme Court Justices (on top of Appellate court justices) are chomping at the bit to get another crack at infringing upon the Second Amendment and all they need is one more vote.

Mitt Romney?  He’s not a champion of the Second Amendment, hell, he even was all Massachusetts on it while he was Governor, but he is someone who can be reasoned with.  Barack Obama will take your guns away from you, it is his goal and he believes passionately about it.  Romney?  I don’t think he really cares one way or the other.  If the worst thing he does is nominate another Anthony Kennedy to the court instead of an Antonin Scalia then it is still a world better than getting another Sotomayor or Kagan.

Gary Johnson has the same chance of nominating a Supreme Court Justice as I do.  You don’t see me endorsing myself as a write in candidate even though Johnson and I have the same odds of winning.

If you cannot stomach voting for Mitt Romney than don’t.  If you cannot in good conscience vote for Mitt Romney then vote your conscience. Our conscience won’t let us endorse him on Second Amendment grounds so we won’t.

My conscience, on the other hand, will not do anything that will help Barack Obama, enemy of my Second Amendment rights, to be re-elected.  Nor will I sway anyone in order to help Obama be re-elected.

If all we can do in the Presidential election is let the chips fall where they may then so be it.  What that means is that we will just work that much harder ensuring that we send the most Pro Gun House and Senate we can to Washington to limit the amount of damage that either major candidate can do to the 2nd.

And before anyone starts firebombing me for not understanding the need to change the 2 party system, I am a Libertarian.  And even more so I ran for political office once.  And I have heard so many times, you’re a third party, you can’t win.  They were right…sort of.  I ran for Mayor of a city of 300,000.  Of course I wasn’t going to win.  If I ran for city council, school board, mayor of a smaller town or the like first, I could probably shake enough hands and kiss enough babies to get elected there.  Then, make a name for myself and move up.

To all the people who bemoan the 2 party system and want to elect a third party candidate president you have to WAKE UP.  Start small and build up.  The Libertarian party has a ton of local and state office holders across the country and they are growing.  Eventually when they get a Governor of a major state they may have enough clout to put on a serious challenge for the White House.  But until then, they run candidates to inform the populace that they exist.

While that is a good and proper thing to do, I will not strengthen Obama’s position by suggesting people vote for someone who cannot win.

If you really want change, take all this fire and energy you have once every 4 years and volunteer on a campaign on an off year.  Get a Libertarian Sherriff elected, someone on your town council.  It will not come overnight, it will not happen in this election, and if we don’t stop Obama’s policy that start with striping away the 2nd Amendment and ends who knows where, it may never happen.

Do I want to see a Libertarian President?  Yep.  I also want to see Constitutional Carry recognized nationwide as well, but just because I want it doesn’t mean I don’t have to work for it and build it up.  You just don’t get what you wish for without laying the ground work first.

Only one of two men will win the Presidency this election.  Neither are friends of the Second Amendment but that makes the urgency of sending the most Pro-Gun Congress back to Washington all the more pressing.  Obama is beyond reason…Romney, perhaps not.

That is why we need your help now more than ever.  We want to get involved in as many campaigns as we can across the country.  We all ready have scored impressive victories during the Primary Season and now we wish to continue pressing the advantage in November.

Use the Discount Code:  vote2012 and life2012 to receive 25% off annual and lifetime memberships today at

http://gunowners.org/store/new-membership

It’s a small price but can go a long way.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “Third Party Candidate Gary Johnson

  1. Tomás Jeffers' Son

    October 3, 2012 at 11:40 am

    I’m a lifelong Libertarian-leaning Republican. I have toed the party line. I am a firm believer in the 2nd Amendment. I will be supporting Republican candidates for the House and Senate. I will not be supporting Mitt Romney. The way he railroaded the Republican electoral system and the Ron Paul people of the world at the convention was inexcusable. He is inept, and his handler John Sununu is a criminal, a liar and thief. If NOT voting for Romney gives us a whack at a real Republican in 4 more years, than I’d rather that and let the crap hit the fan on BO’s watch. It WILL hit the fan regardless. Romney’s plan is kicking the can… $2.6 Trillion more debt, repeal and REPLACE Obamacare? No thanks! Guns are an important issue. They’re not the only issue. And as you’ve stated, Romney is no friend of the 2nd either. I suppose I should pick the NRA over GOA simply because they have a larger support base? Not a chance! I’ll keep sending my money to those that have the right message.

     
  2. Michael Smith

    October 3, 2012 at 11:47 am

    What if Gary Johnson wins. Because we all wast our votes on him

     
  3. ::G

    October 3, 2012 at 11:57 am

    I agree with the previous poster that after what happened at the RNC, I’m not pulling the lever for the anointed candidate. And it’s not my fault either that they nominated who they did, and broke their own rules of order at the convention. Screw ‘em right in the ear. Now they get to sleep in the bed that they made. If they’re right, my vote doesn’t matter anyway. I’ll be supporting local liberty (libertarian) candidates like Mr. Oliva suggests.

    Regarding Supreme Court justices, this is a serious issue. However, keep in mind that the Senate must confirm nominees. As long as the Democrats don’t retain their majority, it probably doesn’t matter much who is seated in the Oval Office come January. So that’s where we need to focus our efforts.

     
    • gunowners

      October 3, 2012 at 12:14 pm

      My sentiments exactly G.

      I’m not telling anyone to NOT vote for Gary Johnson. Nor am I telling anyone to vote FOR Mitt Romney. But I’m not going to tell Johnson people that they should support Mitt just as I won’t tell Mitt people to support Johnson.

      This is the hand we are dealt and its not a good one. The best we can do is stack the deck (in this case the Senate) with as many pro gun senators as we can. Unfortunately, even if we do, Obama will not just give up nominating gun grabbing judges, he’s just going to keep cycling through until enough have been shot down and he can charge the Senate with maliciously blocking his nominees. The media will eat that up and in 2014 we may find ourselves with gun grabbers back in control of the Senate with a President who has 2 years to go wild.

      If Mitt Romney’s a true believer in gun control, he can try the same tactic but what’s he gonna say? My party in the Senate is blocking my nominees for political reasons?!?!

      No one will pick up what he’s laying down and eventually he will capitulate to the Senate. And that’s only if he’s a true believer in gun control, which as I said I don’t think he is. I just think he goes with the tide. Not the best thing to have, but only terrible when the tide is against you.

       
  4. MV

    October 3, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    What about the Constitution Party? They are 100% committed to the 2nd ammendment.

     
  5. Bill Dudek

    October 3, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    The Constitution Party, SHOULD be the party that all the other small parties line up behind and actually support to make some changes in this nation. None of them can win; they all have a one-issue stigma to overcome. Right-To-Life obviously is just anti-abortion; there’s no perception beyond that. Green party, the environment. Unfortunately, the Libertarians are perceived as those who just want to legalize drugs. Now ALL these, and the others CAN look at the Constitution Party and say “we have enough common ground here, let’s get together and DO THIS!” Of course, they won’t.

    As far as my vote; no chance will I vote for the lesser of two evils. THAT’S how we GOT where we are! That’s what the powers that be that call the shots for BOTH parties WANT! You need to get this! My vote will go for MY choice of the best candidate to do the job. It will represent MY choice, MY voice. I will not vote out fear. Never again.

     
    • gunowners

      October 3, 2012 at 2:57 pm

      Nothing wrong with that Bill. Everyone should be entitled to their own vote, cast in for their own reasons.

       
      • Brad

        October 24, 2012 at 7:02 pm

        People left the NRA because they have played the lesser game and let these criminals from both parties chip away at our 2nd rights, as well as others to strip us of our freedoms. Even endorsed them at times.It breaks my heart to see someone representing one of the only friends the gun owners have, talk along the same lines.

        Some of us believe and mean it when we say…………….NO Compromise! I still want to believe the GOA does too!

         
  6. Jason

    October 3, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    You’re entitled to your opinion but Mittens is simply not even close to being good enough to vote for. We deserve our whole Constitution and not just one part of the BOR. I no longer deal with the NRA because they support middle ground twits like this and demand a President that will obey his oath of office. We have a President, not a King.

    Never again will I vote lesser of two evils. I suspect that I’ll be supporting libertarian minded folks when I can and Ignoring the races with nobody worth voting for. No more vote R just to avoid D.

     
  7. Jak

    October 3, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    As a pfc in the army I once voted for a third party candidate and ended up with bill Clinton as president. I decided that the taste of my own nose wasn’t so good when I bit it off… Stock up on ammo and Hide it well folks. Cause Barack And his boys will be comin for it!

     
  8. Norm Allen

    October 8, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Cut through the paranoid conspiracy-theorist BS chatter and just look at past performance…

    http://www.businessinsider.com/obama-vs-romney-gun-control-2012-9

    Stocking up on ammo is stupid unless you’re planning on:
    A) Spending a lot of time on the range.
    B) Selling it to “idiots” like me when the paranoia peaks and we have legitimate supply shortages again.

    (Except I got my stockpile in order after that last one passed..)

    Any other reason for stockpiling is just absurd because if they come for your guns/ammo you’re going to be able to use what you have right at hand, in clips, AT BEST.

     
  9. Gordon

    October 19, 2012 at 7:51 am

    You people saying “But what if we all vote for Gary Johnson and he wins?” are killing me. Do some research on voting rights in states besides your own. In some states he will not be on the ballot, people have never heard of him, and in some states, like my home state of Oklahoma, write in votes are not allowed and there will be no third party on the ballot. So there is no way Gary Johnson can win with those kind of circumstances. That is why we are stuck choosing between Dumb and Dumber-er-est.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

