RSS

Vermont bill would fine citizens for NOT having a firearm

07 Dec
Vermont bill would fine citizens for NOT having a firearm

Vermont Rep. Fred Maslack is proposing that the state not only register non-gun owners but also charge them for not having a gun.  Under Maslack’s proposal Vermont would become the first state to require a permit for the luxury of traipsing about unarmed and assess a fee of $500 for the privilege of not owning a gun.

This wouldn’t be the first time in America that such a law was passed.  In Kennesaw, GA, gun ownership has been mandatory since 1982 with a fine of $100 being levied for violators.  In contrast to the hysteria the gun control zealots were expounding at the time, crime was drastically lowered while the population skyrocketed.

Prior to enactment of the law, Kennesaw had a population of just 5,242 but a crime rate significantly higher (4,332 per 100,000) than the national average (3,899 per 100,000). The latest statistics available – for the year 2005 – show the rate at 2,027 per 100,000. Meanwhile, the population has skyrocketed to 28,189.

Maslack’s bill in Vermont, atop the $500 fine, would also require non gun owners to register with the state.  Under the bill, adults who choose not to own a firearm would be required to register their name, address, Social Security number, and driver’s license number with the state.

Usually, I have been against the government ruling anything has to be mandatory.  But given the fact that Obamacare not only passed but was affirmed by the Supreme Court, I guess the new law of the land allows the government to force people to buy things.  While it may not be right, as of now it is legal, so why not force people (who are not otherwise barred from owning firearms) to exercise their rights and those persons
who are “conscientiously scrupulous of bearing arms” shall be required to “pay such equivalent”?

I mean, there is no reason why gun owners should have to pay taxes to support police protection for people who choose not to protect themselves. Why not let them contribute their fair share and pay their own way. Isn’t that reasonable? Non-gun owners require more police to protect them and this fee should go to paying for their defense.

If, as a healthy person, I have to foot the bill for the chain smoking, burger inhaling, cardio hating, Fatty McFattensteins of America, why shouldn’t someone who wants to pass the responsibility of their own protection onto the cops pay for that privilege?

Do I expect this legislation in Vermont to go anywhere?  I’m not sure.  When similar bills have come up before in Vermont they haven’t gotten any traction but ever since the Supreme Court ruled in favor of Obamacare who knows.

If the long lasting effect of Obamacare (besides crippling the health industry) is that mandatory gun ownership legislation sweeps the nation then I will laugh long and hard. Gotta love karma.

 
233 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

233 responses to “Vermont bill would fine citizens for NOT having a firearm

  1. aquaponics courses Hawaii

    August 25, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    I think this is among the most important information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But should
    remark on some general things, The website style is ideal,
    the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

     
  2. popular penny stocks

    August 26, 2014 at 1:03 am

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your
    blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?

    Outstanding work!

     
  3. St Cloud MN Executive & Corporate Limo Services

    August 26, 2014 at 4:59 am

    I hardly drop remarks, but i did some searching and
    wound up here Vermont bill would fine citizens for NOT having a firearm | Gun Owners of America.
    And I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.
    Is it simply me or does it look like some of the remarks look like written by
    brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are posting at additional
    online sites, I’d like to follow everything new you have
    to post. Could you make a list of the complete urls of your social pages like your twitter feed,
    Facebook page or linkedin profile?

     
  4. cheap website design and hosting

    August 26, 2014 at 9:10 pm

    Hey there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering
    which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and
    I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.

    I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good
    platform.

     
  5. requirements for a phlebotomist

    August 26, 2014 at 10:41 pm

    I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of area .

    Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this website.
    Reading this info So i am satisfied to show that I have a very
    good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I so much indisputably will make
    certain to do not omit this website and provides it a glance on a constant basis.

     
  6. where to buy penny stocks

    August 27, 2014 at 8:36 am

    This is really attention-grabbing, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in search of more of your excellent post.
    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

     
  7. roofer Fort Collins

    August 27, 2014 at 1:11 pm

    Here are some items a homeowner can make and one that can affect its stability.
    Thereafter, you will enjoy monthly savings on your capitol roofing electric
    costs, metal roofing, it remains to be a job that just anybody can do and be
    good at. If capitol roofing you already have.

     
  8. what are penny stocks

    August 27, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after looking at
    some of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m certainly happy I stumbled
    upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

     
  9. ip phone systems for small business New York City

    August 28, 2014 at 5:10 am

    I’m not sure why but this blog is loading extremely slow
    for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem
    on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the
    problem still exists.

     
  10. photographer in columbia sc

    August 28, 2014 at 11:54 am

    Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post
    is awesome, great written and include almost all important infos.
    I would like to look extra posts like this .

     
  11. sales reps jobs Salt Lake City

    August 29, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    It’s going to be ending of mine day, but before ending I am
    reading this fantastic piece of writing to increase my knowledge.

     
  12. honolulu jit jitsu schools

    August 30, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    I am in fact glad to read this webpage posts which carries plenty of
    valuable information, thanks for providing such information.

     
  13. hosted ip phones New York City

    August 31, 2014 at 4:00 pm

    I’m not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was looking for this
    information for my mission.

     
  14. business ip phone service New York City

    September 1, 2014 at 2:47 am

    Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your
    articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything.
    However imagine if you added some great graphics or videos to give your
    posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with
    images and videos, this blog could definitely be one of the very best in its niche.

    Amazing blog!

     
  15. www.kionrightnow.com

    September 1, 2014 at 7:32 am

    The rise in interest in fibreglass roofing could be put down to heightened media interest, growing public understanding of the property
    may also come in wide variety. So say hello to rubber roofing capitol roofing shingles that are missing and/are torn or damaged part.
    It is the profit that is needed, they are much more challenging
    to keep up if I stayed in her draft. Standing seam metal roofing.
    Quality of workIs their work quality driven?

     
  16. Justine

    September 1, 2014 at 11:13 pm

    For most up-to-date information you have to visit web and on world-wide-web I found
    this site as a best website for hottest updates.

     
  17. personal training in northern beaches

    September 2, 2014 at 9:54 am

    There’s definately a great deal to find out about this issue.
    I really like all the points you have made.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

