RSS

Vermont bill would fine citizens for NOT having a firearm

07 Dec
Vermont bill would fine citizens for NOT having a firearm

Vermont Rep. Fred Maslack is proposing that the state not only register non-gun owners but also charge them for not having a gun.  Under Maslack’s proposal Vermont would become the first state to require a permit for the luxury of traipsing about unarmed and assess a fee of $500 for the privilege of not owning a gun.

This wouldn’t be the first time in America that such a law was passed.  In Kennesaw, GA, gun ownership has been mandatory since 1982 with a fine of $100 being levied for violators.  In contrast to the hysteria the gun control zealots were expounding at the time, crime was drastically lowered while the population skyrocketed.

Prior to enactment of the law, Kennesaw had a population of just 5,242 but a crime rate significantly higher (4,332 per 100,000) than the national average (3,899 per 100,000). The latest statistics available – for the year 2005 – show the rate at 2,027 per 100,000. Meanwhile, the population has skyrocketed to 28,189.

Maslack’s bill in Vermont, atop the $500 fine, would also require non gun owners to register with the state.  Under the bill, adults who choose not to own a firearm would be required to register their name, address, Social Security number, and driver’s license number with the state.

Usually, I have been against the government ruling anything has to be mandatory.  But given the fact that Obamacare not only passed but was affirmed by the Supreme Court, I guess the new law of the land allows the government to force people to buy things.  While it may not be right, as of now it is legal, so why not force people (who are not otherwise barred from owning firearms) to exercise their rights and those persons
who are “conscientiously scrupulous of bearing arms” shall be required to “pay such equivalent”?

I mean, there is no reason why gun owners should have to pay taxes to support police protection for people who choose not to protect themselves. Why not let them contribute their fair share and pay their own way. Isn’t that reasonable? Non-gun owners require more police to protect them and this fee should go to paying for their defense.

If, as a healthy person, I have to foot the bill for the chain smoking, burger inhaling, cardio hating, Fatty McFattensteins of America, why shouldn’t someone who wants to pass the responsibility of their own protection onto the cops pay for that privilege?

Do I expect this legislation in Vermont to go anywhere?  I’m not sure.  When similar bills have come up before in Vermont they haven’t gotten any traction but ever since the Supreme Court ruled in favor of Obamacare who knows.

If the long lasting effect of Obamacare (besides crippling the health industry) is that mandatory gun ownership legislation sweeps the nation then I will laugh long and hard. Gotta love karma.

 
293 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

293 responses to “Vermont bill would fine citizens for NOT having a firearm

  1. baby photographers charlotte nc

    September 21, 2014 at 10:00 am

    Asking questions are actually nice thing if you are not understanding anything totally, however this piece of writing offers fastidious
    understanding even.

     
  2. Painting & wallpaper removal Wickliffe Ohio

    September 22, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    I am actually glad to glance at this blog posts which includes tons
    of helpful information, thanks for providing such
    data.

     
  3. adam pollicino

    September 22, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    Heya! I know this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does running a well-established website like yours take a massive amount work?
    I’m brand new to operating a blog however I do write in my diary daily.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my personal experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new
    aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

     
  4. voip phone set New York City

    September 22, 2014 at 9:19 pm

    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

     
  5. Amelia F. Hanno

    September 22, 2014 at 9:49 pm

    If you would like to increase your familiarity only keep visiting this web page
    and be updated with the most recent gossip posted here.

     
  6. bjj jiu jitsu honolulu hi

    September 22, 2014 at 10:42 pm

    Its not my first time to visit this website, i am browsing this web page dailly and take nice information from here
    everyday.

     
  7. military fashion clothing

    September 24, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on baju wanita.
    Regards

     
  8. Wiesenburg (Mark) Wahl Bürgermeister

    September 24, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    My relatives all the time say that I am wasting my
    time here at web, but I know I am getting know-how all
    the time by reading thes pleasant content.

     
  9. food to help you lose weight

    September 24, 2014 at 6:24 pm

    We’re a bunch of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your site provided us with valuable information to work on.
    You have done an impressive task and our entire neighborhood
    will likely be grateful to you.

     
  10. online marketing Honolulu

    September 25, 2014 at 3:47 am

    Hi to every single one, it’s actually a fastidious
    for me to visit this website, it includes valuable Information.

     
  11. web design company Boise

    September 25, 2014 at 8:09 am

    Remarkable! Its in fact amazing piece of writing, I have got much clear idea
    concerning from this paragraph.

     
  12. vita coco buy

    September 25, 2014 at 9:10 am

    Pretty! This has been a eally wonderful post. Manny thanks foor supplying this info.

     
  13. connecticut jail

    September 26, 2014 at 2:43 am

    This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

     
  14. bondsman hartford ct

    September 26, 2014 at 10:30 am

    Hey I am so glad I found your site, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Digg for something
    else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a incredible
    post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

     
  15. how to file a bankruptcy

    September 27, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    Aw, this was an incredibly good post. Spending some time and
    actual effort to produce a great article… but what can I say… I
    procrastinate a lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

     
  16. best voip service for small business New York City

    September 29, 2014 at 1:47 am

    Hello, after reading this awesome piece of writing i
    am too delighted to share my knowledge here with mates.

     
  17. why voip for business New York City

    September 29, 2014 at 10:39 pm

    whoah this blog is great i like studying your articles.
    Keep up the great work! You realize, lots of persons are searching round for this information,
    you can aid them greatly.

     
  18. voip small business phone systems New York City

    September 30, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    Greetings from California! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog
    loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just
    3G .. Anyhow, fantastic blog!

     
  19. cheap silver

    September 30, 2014 at 12:45 pm

    My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This post truly made my day.

    You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

     
  20. bond enforcement agent

    October 1, 2014 at 8:22 am

    Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or
    vice-versa? My blog goes over a lot of the same topics as yours
    and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you’re interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb
    blog by the way!

     
  21. business hosted voip New York City

    October 2, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    I think the admin of this website is actually
    working hard for his site, for the reason that here every information is quality based stuff.

     
  22. mortgage brokers in new jersey

    October 5, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    For most up-to-date news you have to pay a visit world wide web and on internet I found this site as a most excellent site for most recent
    updates.

     
  23. get skinny in one day

    October 7, 2014 at 10:09 am

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will definitely return.

     
  24. best enzyme supplements for digestion and health

    October 30, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do think that you should publish more on this topic, it might
    not be a taboo matter but typically folks don’t talk about
    these issues. To the next! All the best!!

     
  25. just dance video game

    November 24, 2014 at 4:05 pm

    There is certainly a lot to find out about this issue.
    I love all of the points you made.

     
  26. holistic ways to get pregnant

    December 9, 2014 at 10:18 am

    Awesome! Its truly amazing piece of writing,
    I have got much clear idea on the topic of from this
    piece of writing.

     
  27. what to get for a new puppy

    December 11, 2014 at 2:57 am

    Normally I don’t read article on blogs, however I
    wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do so!
    Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite nice article.

     

Leave a comment